We stayed in Osaka for 3 nights and we went to an izakaya style restaurant named AMATARO for dinner where we tried some of the local food.

IMG_0850

I enjoyed the fresh sashimi platter a lot! The scallops in particular were exceptionally sweet~

IMG_0849

These were some of the best, and unlike any gyoza I’ve ever eaten. The bottom of the crispy skin was pan fried and the overall wrapper had a mochi-like fluffy consistency. Totally blew me away.

More info on this restaurant: AMATARO

IMG_0852

We headed out early the next day to see Osaka castle, but not before dropping by the conbini for some quick breakfast. Here’s some yummy looking yakisoba pan (fried noodles in a hotdog bun) ..and since we were in osaka, I wanted to try one but something else caught my eye.

osaka01

Dry curry onigiri! And it’s even topped with a square of cheese. The packaging is designed to look like a baseball, which is quite a popular sport in the prefecture.

IMG_0855

Since I’m a curry and cheese fanatic, this was just amazing for me.

Cute japanese snacks in the vending machines. I’m watching my sugar intake so I couldn’t try any : (

osaka02

It was a very sunny day when we strolled to the park from the station. I’m glad we brought an umbrella but it was still too hot for me.

osaka03osaka04

This park is huge, and it was inevitable that we would spend quite some time walking under the searing sun.

osaka06osaka07osaka08osaka09

ugh so hot.

osaka10osaka11

Finally we reached the castle! And you may rent some samurai costumes nearby to snap commemorative photos in front of Osaka castle.

IMG_0857

A food truck! Look at all those exciting flavors of ice cream!

IMG_0859

This stand is selling  various matcha items such as cold drinks, sweets and ice cream and there was a long line of people up front.

IMG_0860

osaka15

Look at that huge pile of warabi (bracken rice) mochi! And even better because they were matcha flavored! Traditional warabi mochi is made from bracken starch and dusted in kinako (sweetened toasted soybean) flour.

IMG_0861IMG_0862

So beautiful. Warabi mochi is one of my most favorite japanese sweets!

osaka16

I was sad I didn’t have the chance to eat some because of dietary restrictions during this trip. I need to keep healthy so I can try such food next time!

osaka14

Since it was a hot day and I gave up warabi mochi, I thought some ice cream would be fair. I didn’t eat a lot anyway, and matcha ain’t sweet, just to try a little!

osaka17

I just love the taste of bitter green tea with the soft serve. When in Japan, never skip the matcha ice cream!~

IMG_0863

More food stands !!!

osaka18

Glorious Osaka castle. The last time I’ve been here was in 2004. It’s also beautiful at night.

osaka20

Osaka castle is no doubt one of Japan’s most famous landmarks and played a significant role in the unification of the country during the 16th century.

There’s several floors inside housing exhibits and dioramas depicting famous samurai and feudal lords.

osaka21

This dude is quite popular in anime and video games.

osaka28

The view from the roof of Osaka castle’s main tower is just fabulous.

osaka30

Hideyoshi Toyotomi and his family lineage. He’s a significant daimyo (great lord) in Japanese history who had the castle constructed.

osaka31

You may try on one of the helmets and coats for a reasonable fee. They appear to be quite heavy!

osaka35

osaka36osaka37

osaka33

More artifacts and materials used for building the castle.

osaka34

osaka39

osaka38

osaka43

Golden screens.

osaka32

Don’t forget to collect your castle stamp!

IMG_0864

Of course, we had to drop by the castle museum’s gift shop for food and souvenirs.

IMG_0865

Wow matcha chocolate Apollo! I’ve only tried the strawberry variant. Kansai is amazing! haha

IMG_0866

Okonomiyaki senbei!

IMG_0867

So much rice cakes and traditional sweets.

IMG_0868IMG_0869IMG_0871

Sakura cream daifuku sounds heavenly.

IMG_0872

Whole strawberries coated in white chocolate. Truly a delectable treat!

osaka44

Another view of the castle from the outside.

osaka45

I forgot what this building is for but the exterior reminds me of European style architecture.

osaka46IMG_0873

More ice cream and food stalls.

osaka47

The outer moat. It looks cool without any water.

osaka48

The castle park is gorgeous but there’s no shade in sight!

osaka52osaka53osaka54

 

Next on my Osakan food adventure is Namba. Watch out for it!

 

Osaka Castle Park 

Museum address: 540-0002 1-1, Osakajo, Chuo-ku, Osaka City

Contact: +81-6-6941-3044

Museum Hours: 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. (Last admission is at 4:30 p.m.)
Opening hours extended during certain  periods in the spring and summer. Closed during December 28th through January 1st

Official website in english

 

