IMG_0874

Here we arrive in Namba which is regarded as the center of Minami (south) Osaka and also features great places for finding delicious local food.

osaka59

I love how the Japanese kawaii(cute) culture is embedded all around even in the construction sites haha!

osaka60

The huge buildings and beautiful architecture always astound me.

osaka61

osaka64

We headed to one of the many shopping districts for lunch. Just walking casually around, there were plenty of options to be seen.

IMG_0876IMG_0877

Cute pudding-like sweets.

IMG_0878

A bakery selling fluffy Japanese cheese cakes.

IMG_0879

osaka63

Ice pops with Penguin mascots.

IMG_0880

It’s very enjoyable watching people snacking by the side of the shopping district.

IMG_0881IMG_0882

This restaurant’s art is cute.

IMG_0883

Matsuya, a popular donburi (rice bowl) fast food chain. I have yet to eat here.

IMG_0884

yum, very affordable curry rice!

osaka65

A must-try when in Osaka, Takoyaki! I think this was one of the first stands we actually saw here but we decided to look around some more.

osaka66osaka67osaka68

I love these 3D restaurant decors which can be found all around Namba. I wish I had some for my house haha

osaka69

We found this noodle shop which sells really cheap soba and udon. I’ve always wanted to try a place like this!

IMG_0885

The menu sells mostly variants of udon and soba with the occasional sides of rice such as kayaku, onigiri and inari.

IMG_0887IMG_0886

This guy is very quick at cooking and prepping the noodles!

osaka70osaka71

I tried the Curry Soba. The noodles were perfectly chewy and the broth was hearty and delicious! Gotta be careful when slurping!

osaka73osaka72

Curry Udon!

IMG_0888

After a wonderful lunch, we proceeded to walk off some of the calories we gained in search of more food. Just kidding, but there were so many interesting shops and sights to be found! This amusing cutout promotes a curry which is popular in the area. If I hadn’t just eaten, I would definitely have tried this place too!

IMG_0889IMG_0890

Another restaurant chain that I wished to try!

IMG_0891

This shop specializes in fried chicken. And what a cute mascot!

osaka75osaka76

Yet another takoyaki stand. Yum!

osaka77IMG_0893

Heading by the south road we see lots of quirky kitchen accessories such as aprons..

IMG_0894osaka80osaka81

This huge chunk of fake meat reminds me of Monster Hunter 4 haha

IMG_0896

This shop sells novelty fake food, trinkets and accessories.

IMG_0898IMG_0899IMG_0900IMG_0897IMG_0895IMG_0901osaka83

Headbands with fake grilled fish! I would wear them!

osaka84osaka85osaka87

Takoyaki back scratchers.

osaka88

These are my favorites! The fake food smartphone holders! omg so brilliant and cute!

osaka89osaka90osaka91

They are quite expensive but I think these pieces totally make an awesome conversation starter if you have them in your home!

IMG_0902

The novelty fake food carry a lot of intricate details in their design and manufacturing. Japan makes amazing quality products!

osaka92osaka93IMG_0903

Doguyasuji shopping street sells plenty of cooking wares and kitchen goods in Osaka. Here we see some legit Takoyaki grills.

IMG_0904

I love the color of these grills. They’re very expensive though!

IMG_0907IMG_0906

Several adorable kitty themed bowls!

IMG_0908

Fancy chopsticks in girly colors. They’re even bejeweled!

IMG_0909IMG_0910

Cheap and cute sweets!~

IMG_0911

IMG_0905

I still want to try sakura ice cream in the future!

IMG_0912

More takoyaki shops.

osaka103IMG_0913IMG_0914IMG_0915

IMG_0916

After all that food spotting, we headed to Namba Yasaka shrine which houses Namba’s guardian deity and is also quite well hidden in the neighborhood of Osaka. We went in the late afternoon so luckily, there were hardly any people around the shrine.

osaka117

IMG_0918

osaka115

The most spectacular and grandiose monument to see here is the Shishibutai or the lion stage. The stage is shaped like a Japanese shishi (lion) and it is indeed a majestic sight to behold. I was glad I came all the way to Osaka for this!

IMG_0917

 

IMG_0922

I was in awe with the details of the performance stage as well as the huge stone carved Lion head! I hope more visitors will be able to feast their eyes on this beauty.

IMG_0923

The shrine even sells Lion themed charms!

IMG_0924osaka118

Next, I’ll be writing about my experience in one of Osaka’s most famous gastronomic hot spots, Dotonbori in Namba!

Read about the post here

 

Namba Yasaka shrine

Address: 556-0016 Osaka Prefecture, Osaka, Naniwa Ward, Motomachi, 2 Chome-9-19

Namba Yasaka shrine is also on Trip Advisor